The good, the bad, and the ugly

I spot an inconsistency in the written material they gave us in this particular online course here at work —an article in the law had been updated by a more recent one and consequently superseded. I say so in the course billboard so that everyone is aware. I expect a reply by the teacher —Hey, thank you for pointing the class to that! I’ll update the material to incorporate the new phrasing to that article, and I’ll warn everybody about it so that they won’t get it wrong. What I get: the old material gets erased, the teacher begins saying things according to the new phrasing without even saying that what she’s saying now contradicts what she had said many times before, and my message in the forum gets unanswered, as it had never been, never should have.

Time for the second test on the same course, a few days later. I get 9 out of 10, and when I review the test I see that the answer assigned to the question I failed is probably wrong. I email both the teacher and the course coordinator telling them about it, attaching the corresponding screenshot, and asking them very politely if they can give the matter some consideration and tell me whether I’m wrong or right about its having the wrong answer. I’m not even asking for a re-scoring of my test. What I get: no reply. That’s how I know I’m right.

A colleague of mine came about three weeks ago to my workplace and told me he was going to do some very minor repairs there, in the coming days or weeks. I had forgotten all about it when today he calls me to say the repairs had been written off the list so he wasn’t doing them. The thing was perfectly unimportant, he could’ve spared himself the trouble to tell me, but he cared.

Who of them would you buy a second-hand car from?

Leave a Reply

