What will I be?

Last summer my friend (or whatever he is) T. was kind enough to invite me to join him in a hike through some beautiful hills over the plains of our coastal hometown, which he is rather knowledgeable about. Over the eight hours or more that it took us to complete the trek we spoke clumsily and well. I reserve room here for further revelations about it, but I just want now to notice that he said something (and he even said it after some consideration) I liked to hear, that were he to be back in time to the moment of having to choose a career for life, he would choose likewise as he did.

That lies in sharp contrast with my own experience and with that of most of my close friends and relatives; I celebrate his intelligence at having rightly picked his profession at the time; not a trifling thing as it goes, not at all.

Leave a Reply

